One of Jackson’s most iconic properties, “The Castle” as it is known by many, is architecturally significant as one of the best examples of Tudor Revival residential architecture in Mississippi. Memphis architect J. Frazier Smith studied in England in the 1920’s and was heavily influenced by English Tudor design. When he returned home he was inspired to design a home to reflect what he’d seen abroad. Construction began in 1927 and was completed in 1930. This richly historic home is ideal for modern living, thanks to the current owners’ extensive restoration efforts in 2005. They spent a year restoring the home, careful to maintain the Tudor Revival details and original character, while modernizing systems and making updates that made the home comfortable and livable for today’s lifestyles. The scope of the restoration work was expansive, including extensive rewiring and replumbing, restoring and painting the plaster walls throughout the home, refinishing the home's original hardwood floors, converting a dressing area for the pool into a wine cellar, adding copper gutters, restoration of the tile roof, resurfacing and lighting the tennis court, and resurfacing the pool to name a few. The 7542 sq ft home has six bedrooms, five full baths and three half baths. The first floor boasts multiple living areas, both formal and informal, including a beautiful study with rich wood, slate floors and leaded glass windows that overlook the pool. Soapstone counters, a butcher block island, a Viking range, a beautiful custom-designed copper hood and custom built silver and china storage are all features of the updated kitchen. Four bedrooms occupy the second floor, as well as a laundry room. On the third floor a large bedroom with an ensuite bathroom offers beautiful views of the property. The sixth bedroom, also with an ensuite bathroom, is private and would be ideal for a guest bedroom. Stepping into the backyard is a treat. The original swimming pool (refinished, with new tile, concrete and stone areas around the pool) and tennis court (restored and resurfaced, with addition of fencing and lights) were among the firsts in the City of Jackson for residential use. A beautiful stone pavilion at the rear of the swimming pool offers a shaded spot to sit while watching swimming or tennis. A pool house (490 sq ft) with a kitchen and half bath was added to the property in the 1970s. This property is perfect for entertaining, both indoors and out. It is a truly a one-of-a-kind, landmark property. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2010.